We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Federal Identity Program

Federal Identity ProgramThe Federal Identity Program (FIP) is the Government of Canada's corporate identity program. FIP requirements are made mandatory through policies and standards approved by Treasury Board ministers.

The objectives of FIP are:

  • to enable the public to recognize clearly federal activities by means of consistent identification;
  • to improve service to the public by facilitating access to federal programs and services;
  • to project equality of status of the two official languages consistent with the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms and the Official Languages Act;
  • to ensure effective management of the federal identity consistent with government-wide priorities, and to achieve savings through standardization; and
  • to promote good management practices in the field of corporate identity and information design.

When a department is clearly and consistently identified, its programs and services are easier to find and use. This is especially important to ensure that government departments are accountable to the public they serve. All information, whether intended for external or internal use, must clearly convey the Government of Canada’s visual identity.

In 1998, Treasury Board (TB) ministers approved additional requirements aimed at strengthening the presence and visibility of the Government of Canada in all of its activities. Of major importance is the decision that the Government of Canada's identity is to have primacy over the identity of individual institutions and is not to be overshadowed by unique identifiers and symbols. TB ministers also decided that the use of institutional symbols that do not comply with the Federal Identity Program require the authorization of the Treasury Board. As a result, departments cannot use any logos, other than the official symbols of the Government of Canada, to identify themselves and their communications, programs, services and assets, unless they have received Treasury Board approval to do so.

Date modified:

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Programme de coordination de l'image de marque

Programme de coordination de l'image de marqueLe Programme de coordination de l'image de marque (PCIM) est le programme d'image de marque du gouvernement du Canada. Les exigences du PCIM sont rendues obligatoires par les politiques et les normes approuvées par les ministres du Conseil du Trésor.

Les objectifs du PCIM sont les suivants :

  • permettre au public de reconnaître facilement les activités fédérales au moyen d'une image de marque uniforme ;
  • améliorer le service au public en facilitant l'accès aux programmes et services fédéraux ;
  • respecter le statut d'égalité entre les deux langues officielles, conformément à la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et à la Loi sur les langues officielles ;
  • assurer la gestion efficace de l'image de marque fédérale conforme aux priorités de l'administration fédérale, et réaliser des économies par la normalisation ;
  • favoriser des bonnes pratiques de gestion dans le domaine de l'image de marque et du design.

Quand un ministère est identifié de façon claire et cohérente, ses programmes et ses services sont reconnaissables et accessibles. Cela est important pour faire en sorte que les ministères soient redevables envers le public qu'ils servent. Toute information, qu'elle soit destinée à un usage inter ou externe, doit clairement communiquer l'identité visuelle du gouvernement du Canada.

En 1998, les ministres du Conseil du Trésor ont approuvé des exigences supplémentaires dans le but de raffermir la présence et la visibilité du gouvernement du Canada dans toutes ses activités. Une de ces décisions est d'importance capitale, c'est-à-dire la décision selon laquelle l'image de marque du gouvernement du Canada devra avoir préséance sur celle des institutions prises séparément et ne pas être éclipsée par des identificateurs et des symboles particuliers. Les ministres du Conseil du Trésor ont aussi décidé que l'utilisation par les institutions de symboles qui ne se conforment pas au Programme de coordination de l'image de marque devra être autorisée par le Conseil du Trésor. En conséquence, les ministères ne peuvent utiliser aucun logo autre que les symboles officiels du gouvernement du Canada pour s'identifier ou identifier leurs communications, programmes, services et biens, à moins d'avoir obtenu l'approbation du Conseil du Trésor.