We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Information for Designated Public Office Holders

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

This fact sheet aims to help designated public office holders (DPOHs) understand the Lobbying Act and their new obligations. The information provided in this fact sheet supplements information provided by the Office of the Registrar of Lobbyists and by the Commissioner of Lobbying.

On July 2, 2008, the new federal Lobbying Act becomes law. It will increase the transparency of lobbying activities involving federal officials and strengthen the oversight and enforcement of lobbying rules. The Act creates a new registration process for lobbyists and establishes a new category of senior public officials called designated public office holders (DPOH). Certain parts of the Act apply to DPOHs. 

As well, the position of Registrar of Lobbyists will be replaced by the new position of Commissioner of Lobbying. The Commissioner has the authority to administer the Act. This includes giving advice, issuing interpretations and guiding DPOHs in fulfilling their obligations.

What is lobbying?

Lobbying is an important part of our democratic system and a legitimate activity.  A key duty of government officials is to interact with citizens. The Lobbying Act ensures that Canadians and public office holders know who is communicating with the government and on what subject.

The Lobbying Act broadly defines lobbying as any communication (written or oral) by an individual who is paid to communicate with the federal government about federal laws, policies, programs and possibly obtaining government contracts. Even public policy advocacy and government consultations may be considered lobbying. The Lobbying Act is not intended to change or influence the normal practices of public officials in these areas.

It's up to individuals who are lobbying to comply with registration requirements under the Lobbying Act. Public office holders  aren't required to find out if individuals have registered, nor should they advise them to. The Commissioner of Lobbying, meanwhile, is responsible for enforcing the Act.

Who are DPOHs?

DPOHs are key government decision-makers. They include:

  • ministers, ministers of state
  • all exempt staff
  • the senior executive position in departments and agencies (for example, deputy minister, deputy head, chief executive officer or other title)
  • associate deputy ministers or comparable rank
  • assistant deputy ministers or comparable rank
  • other positions designated by regulation: Chief of the Defence Staff, Vice Chief of the Defence Staff, Chief of Maritime Staff, Chief of Land Staff, Chief of Air Staff, Chief of Military Personnel, Judge Advocate General, senior advisors to the Privy Council appointed by the Governor in Council, Deputy Minister Intergovernmental Affairs (Privy Council Office), Comptroller General of Canada, and other deputy ministers, deputy heads, and associate deputy ministers and deputy heads appointed under the Public Service Employment Act.

Public officials who aren't sure if their position is comparable in rank to an associate or assistant deputy minister should contact the Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying for a determination.

What are the responsibilities of DPOHs?

The Lobbying Act requires DPOHs:

  1. to respond to enquiries by the Commissioner of Lobbying, and
  2. to respect the five-year post-employment prohibition on lobbying the federal government.

1. Respond to enquiries by the Commissioner of Lobbying

Each month, lobbyists must file an electronic return detailing arranged verbal conversations they have had with DPOHs. These returns will list:

  • the name of the DPOH
  • the position title of the DPOH, and the organization and branch for which they work
  • the date of the conversation, and
  • the subject discussed (as per a list of topics from a drop-down menu). 

Therefore, DPOHs who have been lobbied may be identified in the Registry of Lobbyists, available to the public.

The Commissioner of Lobbying may request any current or former DPOH to verify information that relates to them. Not every monthly return will necessarily be verified. The Commissioner will decide when to request verifications, how DPOHs will respond and what steps should be taken if a DPOH disagrees with the information in the return.

It is the responsibility of the lobbyist alone to determine if a conversation should be listed on a monthly return. All arranged verbal conversations with DPOHs must be reported, with the exception of verbal discussions arranged by public office holders about the development of policy, programs or legislation. Discussions about contracts and financial benefits that are arranged by public office holders must be reported.

DPOHs should be prepared to confirm their status under the Lobbying Act to external parties, so that these parties can decide if they need to register a communication.

DPOHs should make every effort to respond fully and accurately to enquiries from the Commissioner, using information that they have available.

When scheduling meetings, it is important that DPOHs keep an accurate calendar with the names of individuals present, the organizations they represent and a broad description of the subject discussed. This practice should allow DPOHs to verify a monthly return when called upon by the Commissioner of Lobbying. The Lobbying Act, however, does not require DPOHs to maintain separate lists of meetings with lobbyists, and does not alter government record-keeping practices and policies.  

If a DPOH fails to respond to the Commissioner or responds in an unsatisfactory way, his or her name and the details of the communication may be published by the Commissioner in a report to Parliament.

2. Five-year post-employment prohibition on lobbying

DPOHs are prohibited from lobbying the federal government for five years after leaving their jobs.   

The post-employment prohibition begins July 2, 2008 for all individuals who occupy a DPOH position, except for assistant deputy ministers and comparable ranks. The prohibition for those positions takes effect January 2, 2009. An individual who works in a DPOH position as the result of an employment exchange program (such as the Interchange Canada Program) is not subject to the post-employment prohibition.

Individuals prohibited from lobbying can apply to the Commissioner of Lobbying for an exemption. Criteria in the Act will guide the Commissioner’s decision. The Commissioner may place conditions on an exemption. 

The five-year post-employment prohibition doesn't stop former DPOHs from working for non-profit organizations as long as their duties don't require them to lobby the federal government. Former DPOHs may also work for corporations, if lobbying the federal government isn't one of their main duties. For further information on the post-employment prohibition and the exemption process, please contact the Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying.

Further information

The Office of the Registrar of Lobbyists has prepared a series of Implementation Notices that provides an overview of the changes to the law and how the Office of the Registrar expects the Commissioner will apply the Lobbying Act. These Implementation Notices are available at www.LobbyCanada.gc.ca. For more information about the Lobbying Act, please contact:

Office of the Registrar of Lobbyists
255 Albert Street, 10th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0R5
Tel: 613-957-2760
Fax: 613-957-3078
E-mail: Contact Office of the Registrar of Lobbyists at: QuestionsLobbying@orl-bdl.gc.ca

Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Renseignements à l'intention des titulaires d'une charge publique désignée

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

La présente fiche de renseignements vise à aider les TCPD à comprendre la Loi sur le lobbying et leurs nouvelles obligations. Elle complète les renseignements fournis par le Bureau du directeur des lobbyistes et le commissaire au lobbying.

Le 2 juillet 2008, la nouvelle Loi sur le lobbying entrera en vigueur. Elle rendra plus transparentes les activités de lobbying auxquelles participent des hauts fonctionnaires du gouvernement fédéral et elle renforcera la surveillance et l’application des règles du lobbying. Cette Loi crée un nouveau processus d’enregistrement des lobbyistes et établit une nouvelle catégorie de hauts fonctionnaires du gouvernement, soit les titulaires d’une charge publique désignée (TCPD). Les TCPD sont assujettis à certaines parties de la loi. 

Par ailleurs, le nouveau poste de commissaire au lobbying remplacera le poste de directeur des lobbyistes. Le commissaire a le pouvoir d’administrer la Loi. Ce pouvoir comprend fournir des conseils, donner des interprétations et orienter les TCPD pour qu’ils remplissent leurs obligations.

Qu’est-ce que le lobbying?

Le lobbying fait partie intégrante de notre régime démocratique et constitue une activité légitime.  L’une des principales fonctions des fonctionnaires est de communiquer avec les citoyens. La Loi sur lobbying fait en sorte que les Canadiens et les titulaires de charge publique sachent qui communique avec le gouvernement et à quels sujets.

La Loi sur le lobbying définit en général le lobbying comme étant une communication (de vive voix ou par écrit) par une personne qui est rémunérée pour communiquer avec le gouvernement fédéral concernant les lois, les politiques et les programmes fédéraux et éventuellement pour obtenir des contrats du gouvernement. Même la promotion des politiques publiques et les consultations auprès du gouvernement peuvent être considérées comme du lobbying. La Loi sur le lobbying ne vise ni à modifier ni à influencer les pratiques normales des fonctionnaires du gouvernement à ces égards.

Il incombe aux personnes qui font du lobbying de respecter les dispositions sur l’enregistrement de la Loi sur le lobbying. Les titulaires de charge publique ne sont pas tenus de vérifier si les personnes sont enregistrées et ils ne devraient pas leur conseiller de le faire. Le commissaire au lobbying, pour sa part, est chargé d’appliquer la Loi.

Qui sont les TCPD?

Les TCPD sont les principaux décideurs du gouvernement, il s’agit :

  • des ministres, des ministres d’état
  • de tout le personnel exonéré
  • du poste de direction le plus élevé d’un ministère ou d’un organisme (par exemple, le sous-ministre, l’administrateur général, le premier dirigeant ou tout autre titre)
  • des sous-ministres délégués ou des postes de niveau comparable
  • des sous-ministres adjoints ou des postes de niveau comparable
  • d’autres postes désignés par règlement : le chef d’état-major de la Défense, le vice-chef d’état-major de la Défense, le chef d’état-major de la Force maritime, le chef d’état-major de l’Armée de terre, le chef d’état-major de la Force aérienne, le chef du personnel militaire, le juge-avocat général, tout poste de conseiller principal auprès du Bureau du Conseil privé dont le titulaire a été nommé par le gouverneur en conseil, le sous-ministre (Affaires intergouvernementales) au Bureau du Conseil privé, le contrôleur général du Canada et tout poste de sous-ministre, d’administrateur général et de sous-ministre délégué ou d’administrateur général délégué dont le titulaire a été nommé en vertu de la Loi sur l’emploi dans la fonction publique.

Les fonctionnaires qui ne sont pas sûrs que leur poste soit de niveau comparable à celui d’un sous-ministre délégué ou adjoint doivent communiquer avec le Commissariat au lobbying pour obtenir une décision.

Quelles sont les responsabilités des TCPD?

Conformément à la Loi sur le lobbying, les TCPD doivent :

  1. répondre aux demandes de renseignements du commissaire au lobbying;
  2. respecter l’interdiction d’exercer des activités de lobbying pour la période de cinq ans qui suit la date de cessation de leurs fonctions à titre de titulaire d’une charge publique désignée.

1. Répondre aux demandes de renseignements du commissaire au lobbying

Chaque mois, les lobbyistes doivent faire par voie électronique des déclarations contenant des détails sur les conversations qu’ils ont eues avec les TCPD. Ces déclarations comprennent les renseignements suivants :

  • le nom du TCPD
  • le titre du poste du TCPD et l’organisme et la direction générale pour lequel il travaille
  • la date de la conversation
  • le sujet discuté (selon une liste de sujets dans un menu déroulant). 

Ainsi, les TCPD ayant fait l’objet de lobbying peuvent être identifiés dans le registre des lobbyistes qui est accessible au public.

Le commissaire au lobbying peut demander à un ancien ou actuel TCPD de vérifier les renseignements à son sujet. Les déclarations mensuelles ne seront pas toutes nécessairement vérifiées. Le commissaire décidera quand demander une vérification, la façon dont les TCPD devront répondre et les mesures à prendre si le TCPD n’est pas d’accord avec les renseignements fournis dans la déclaration.

Seul le lobbyiste peut décider si une conversation doit être indiquée dans une déclaration mensuelle. Toutes les conversations organisées avec les TCPD doivent être déclarées, sauf les conversations demandées par les titulaires de charge publique concernant l’élaboration de politiques, de programmes ou de textes législatifs. Les discussions sur les marchés et les avantages financiers demandées par les titulaires de charge publique doivent être déclarées.

Les TCPD doivent être prêts à confirmer leur statut aux termes de la Loi sur le lobbying aux parties externes afin qu’elles puissent décider si elles doivent déclarer une communication.

Les TCPD doivent dans la mesure du possible répondre complètement et exactement aux demandes de renseignements du commissaire à l’aide des renseignements dont ils disposent.

Pour les rencontres, il est important que les TCPD conservent un calendrier exact contenant le nom des personnes présentes, des organisations qu’elles représentent et une description générale des sujets discutés. Cette pratique devrait permettre aux TCPD de vérifier une déclaration mensuelle lorsque le commissaire au lobbying le leur demande. Les TCPD ne sont cependant pas obligés aux termes de la Loi sur le lobbying de tenir des listes distinctes de rencontres avec les lobbyistes, et la Loi ne modifie en rien les pratiques et les politiques du gouvernement en matière de tenue de dossiers. 

Si un TCPD ne répond pas au commissaire ou lui répond de façon insatisfaisante, le commissaire peut publier son nom et les détails de la communication dans un rapport au Parlement.

2. Interdiction d’exercer des activités de lobbying durant cinq ans à tout ancien titulaire de charge publique

Il sera interdit aux TCPD de faire du lobbying auprès du gouvernement fédéral durant une période de cinq ans après avoir quitté leur poste.   

Cette interdiction commence le 2 juillet 2008 pour tous les titulaires d’une charge publique désignée, sauf les sous-ministres adjoints et les personnes d’un niveau hiérarchique comparable. L’interdiction pour ces postes entrera en vigueur le 2 janvier 2009. Une personne qui est titulaire d’une charge publique désignée en raison d’un programme d’échanges (comme le Programme échanges Canada) n’est pas assujettie à l’interdiction d’exercer des activités de lobbying.

La personne faisant l’objet d’une interdiction d’exercer des activités de lobbying peut demander une exemption au commissaire. La décision du commissaire sera fondée sur les critères établis dans la Loi. Le commissaire peut imposer des conditions à une exemption. 

L’interdiction de cinq ans d’exercer des activités de lobbying n’empêche pas les anciens TCPD de travailler pour des organismes à but non lucratif en autant que leurs fonctions n’exigent pas de faire du lobbying auprès du gouvernement fédéral. Les anciens TCPD peuvent aussi travailler pour des sociétés en autant que le lobbying auprès du gouvernement fédéral ne fasse pas partie de leurs fonctions principales. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur l’interdiction de cinq ans d’exercer des activités de lobbying et sur le processus d’exemption, veuillez communiquer avec le Commissariat au lobbying.

Autres renseignements

Le Bureau du directeur des lobbyistes a préparé une série d’avis de mise en œuvre qui donnent un aperçu des modifications à la loi et de la façon dont le Bureau du directeur des lobbyistes s’attend que le commissaire appliquera la Loi sur le lobbying. Ces avis de mise en œuvre sont disponibles sur le site www.LobbyCanada.gc.ca. Pour plus de renseignements concernant la Loi sur le lobbying, veuillez communiquer avec :

Le Bureau du directeur des lobbyistes
255, rue Albert, 10e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0R5
Téléphone : 613-957-2760
Télécopieur : 613-957-3078
Courriel : Contactez le Bureau du directeur des lobbyistes au : QuestionsLobbying@orl-bdl.gc.ca

Date de modification :