We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Federal Accountability Action Plan, April 2006


Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Creating a Director of Public Prosecutions

Delivering on our commitments

  • A new, independent Director of Public Prosecutions to prosecute criminal offences under federal law

"The Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions will have independence to pursue prosecutions under federal law and will report to Canadians on its performance."

Why we are doing this

It is important for transparency and for the integrity of the federal justice system that prosecutions under federal law operate independently of the Attorney General of Canada and of the political process. Crown counsel within the Federal Prosecution Service of the Department of Justice and legal agents currently prosecute federal offences throughout Canada, and provide legal advice to investigative agencies and government departments in matters of criminal law. The creation of the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions will make absolutely clear the independence of criminal prosecutions from political influence by formally separating the Federal Prosecution Service from the Department of Justice.

The Federal Accountability Act will:

  • create the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions to reside outside the Department of Justice (the Director will be selected in a manner similar to that used to make the most recent appointment to the Supreme Court of Canada);
  • give the Director of Public Prosecutions jurisdiction to conduct prosecutions for offences under federal jurisdiction, including new fraud provisions proposed under amendments to the Financial Administration Act;
  • give the Director of Public Prosecutions power to make binding and final decisions on whether to prosecute, unless instructed otherwise by the Attorney General (to safeguard the Director’s independence, however, the Act will require that instructions to the Director from the Attorney General be in writing and made public in the Canada Gazette);
  • give the Director of Public Prosecutions security of tenure; and
  • require that the Director of Public Prosecutions submit an annual report to the Attorney General for tabling in Parliament.

In addition, we will introduce the following measures:

  • We will initiate, through the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions, a review of lessons learned over the past several years in Canada and best practices for prosecuting cases of fraud involving governments. The review will involve interdepartmental partners, provincial and territorial counterparts, and foreign jurisdictions, and will examine the various approaches and mechanisms used in order to:
    • determine when a prosecution for public-sector fraud should be commenced;
    • examine best practices for conducting these prosecutions;
    • determine how the Director of Public Prosecutions can best work collaboratively with provincial and international counterparts; and
    • make clear the seriousness of fraud involving public money, and the importance of pursuing fraud cases quickly.

What this means for Canadians

The new federal Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions model reflects the best features of similar offices that currently exist in three Canadian provinces (British Columbia, Nova Scotia, and Quebec) and in several countries around the world, including the United Kingdom, Australia, and Ireland. The Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions will have independence to pursue prosecutions under federal law and will report to Canadians on its performance.



Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Plan d'action sur l'imputabilité fédérale, avril 2006


Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Créer un poste de directeur des poursuites pénales

Nous tenons nos engagements

  • Nouveau directeur des poursuites pénales indépendant chargé d’intenter des poursuites au criminel dans les cas d’infractions aux lois fédérales

« Le bureau du directeur des poursuites pénales bénéficiera de l'autonomie voulue pour intenter des poursuites en vertu des lois fédérales et répondra de son rendement aux Canadiens. »

Pourquoi nous agissons ainsi

Pour assurer la transparence et l’intégrité de l’appareil judiciaire fédéral, il est important que les poursuites intentées en vertu des lois fédérales soient indépendantes du procureur général du Canada et du processus politique. À l'heure actuelle, c'est l'avocat-conseil de la Couronne, du Service fédéral des poursuites au ministère de la Justice, ainsi que des mandataires, qui exercent les fonctions liées aux poursuites fédérales partout au Canada et qui donnent des conseils juridiques aux organismes d’enquête et aux ministères gouvernementaux en matière de droit criminel. La création du Bureau du directeur des poursuites pénales fera nettement ressortir l’indépendance des poursuites au criminel par rapport à l’influence politique en séparant officiellement le Service fédéral des poursuites du ministère de la Justice.

La Loi fédérale sur l’imputabilité :

  • créera le Bureau du directeur des poursuites pénales, qui ne relèvera pas du ministère de la Justice (la procédure de sélection du directeur sera similaire à celle ayant servi pour la plus récente nomination à la Cour suprême du Canada);
  • conférera au directeur des poursuites pénales le pouvoir d’intenter des poursuites pour des infractions à des lois et à des règlements fédéraux, y compris aux nouvelles dispositions relatives aux fraudes qu’il est proposé d’intégrer par voie d’amendements à la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques;
  • donnera au directeur des poursuites pénales le pouvoir de prendre la décision finale et exécutoire d'intenter des poursuites ou non, sauf si le procureur général lui ordonne d'agir autrement (cependant, pour préserver l’indépendance du directeur, la Loi exigera que le procureur général fournisse ses instructions au directeur par écrit et qu’il les rende publiques dans la Gazette du Canada);
  • fournira au directeur des poursuites pénales un mandat sûr;
  • exigera que le directeur des poursuites pénales présente au procureur général un rapport annuel qui sera déposé devant le Parlement.

En outre, nous prendrons les mesures suivantes :

  • Nous entreprendrons, par l’intermédiaire du Bureau du directeur des poursuites pénales, un examen des leçons apprises au Canada ces dernières années et des pratiques exemplaires de poursuite des fraudes perpétrées au sein d’administrations gouvernementales. Des partenaires d'autres ministères, des homologues provinciaux et territoriaux et des représentants de gouvernements étrangers participeront à cet examen qui traitera des approches et des mécanismes employés pour :
    • décider des cas où il y aurait lieu d’intenter des poursuites pour des fraudes perpétrées dans le secteur public;
    • examiner des pratiques exemplaires dans la conduite de ces poursuites;
    • déterminer comment le directeur des poursuites pénales pourra collaborer avec des homologues provinciaux et internationaux;
    • faire ressortir clairement la gravité des cas de fraude touchant les fonds publics et l’importance d’intenter rapidement des poursuites lorsque ces cas se produisent.

Ce que cela signifie pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens

Le nouveau modèle fédéral que représente le Bureau du directeur des poursuites pénales s’inspire des meilleures caractéristiques des bureaux semblables que l'on trouve actuellement dans trois provinces canadiennes (Colombie-Britannique, Nouvelle-Écosse et Québec) et dans plusieurs pays du monde, dont le Royaume-Uni, l’Australie et l’Irlande. Le Bureau du directeur des poursuites pénales bénéficiera de l’autonomie voulue pour intenter des poursuites en vertu des lois fédérales et rendra compte de son rendement aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens.



Date de modification :