We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Federal Accountability Action Plan, April 2006


Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Strengthening auditing and accountability within departments

Delivering on our commitments

  • Designation of deputy ministers as accounting officers
  • A clear process to resolve disputes between ministers and deputy ministers
  • Strengthened internal audit functions within departments
  • Strengthened governance structures in Crown corporations
  • Tougher penalties for fraudulent misuse of public funds
  • A consistent approach to promote legal and policy compliance and enforce disciplinary measures

"Independent, objective, and timely internal audit services within departments provide assurance to deputy ministers and reinforce good stewardship practices and sound decision making."

Why we are doing this

Under the doctrine of ministerial responsibility, ministers are responsible and accountable to Parliament for all powers vested in them, whether by legislation or otherwise. With respect to their departments, ministers are responsible to Parliament and the Prime Minister for their own actions and those of their officials, whether those actions pertain to policy, operations, or departmental administration. In particular, they are responsible for the management and direction of their departments. This accountability must be supported by appropriate systems of control, including appropriate communications between ministers and deputy ministers, who themselves have responsibilities for departmental management. It is vital that, within the framework of the minister’s overall responsibilities and his or her accountability to Parliament, the roles and responsibilities of deputy ministers are clear.

Independent, objective, and timely internal audit services within departments provide assurance to deputy ministers and reinforce good stewardship practices and sound decision making. They also enable Treasury Board to focus on Government-wide strategic matters dealing with risk.

The Federal Accountability Act will introduce the following changes:

  • The Act will designate deputy ministers and deputy heads as accounting officers for their department, within the framework of ministerial responsibility. Deputy ministers and deputy heads will be accountable before the appropriate committee of Parliament to answer questions related to their responsibilities, which consist of the following:
    • ensuring that resources are organized to deliver departmental objectives in compliance with government policy and procedures;
    • ensuring that there are effective systems of internal control;
    • signing departmental accounts; and
    • performing other specific duties assigned by law or regulation in relation to administration of the department.
  • The Act will require that a clear process be followed in the event that a minister and deputy minister are unable to agree on the interpretation or application of a Treasury Board policy, directive, or standard. In this case, the Act will require that:Parliament of Canada
    • deputy ministers seek guidance in writing from the Secretary of the Treasury Board;
    • if the matter remains unresolved, the minister would refer the matter to the Treasury Board for a decision; and
    • a copy of the Treasury Board decision be shared with the Auditor General as a confidence of the Queen’s Privy Council.
  • It will require that deputy heads ensure an appropriate internal audit capacity and establish departmental audit committees.
  • It will ensure that audit committees in Crown corporations are independent of corporation management by excluding officers or employees of the corporation from audit committee membership.
  • The Act will separate the role of Chief Executive Officer and Chair of the Board of Directors within the National Capital Commission, Canadian Dairy Commission, and the Enterprise Cape Breton Corporation to bring these corporations in line with best practices in corporate governance.  Having different individuals carry out the duties of chair of the board of directors and chief executive officer respectively will clarify accountabilities: the board of directors will be accountable to the responsible minister for the stewardship of the corporation, and the chief executive officer to the board will be accountable for the management and performance of the corporation.
  • It will allow members of Crown corporation boards of directors to be appointed for up to four years, up from the current three-year maximum. This measure will help ensure the continuity of expertise on boards of directors.
  • It will make fraud involving public funds committed by officials an offence under the Financial Administration Act. The offence would have a maximum term of imprisonment of five years for fraud involving $5,000 or less and a maximum term of 14 years for fraud over $5,000. The Financial Administration Act, along with amendments to the Criminal Code of Canada, will also provide for the dismissal of any official convicted of this offence, and will prohibit any individual convicted of this offence from contracting with the Government of Canada. It will also create a similar offence for Crown corporations.

In addition, we will introduce the following measures:

  • We will implement the new Treasury Board Internal Audit Policy, which came into force on April 1, 2006. The policy supports strong internal auditing across government by assigning respective responsibilities between deputy heads and the Comptroller General.  The Comptroller General provides functional leadership, monitors internal audit across government, and ensures horizontal audits of high-risk areas that transcend individual departments and agencies. The Government will bolster auditor independence by establishing audit committees with membership drawn largely from outside of the public service. Chief Audit Executives will be appointed to report directly to deputy heads and functionally to the Comptroller General.
  • We will develop a compliance framework that will include:
    • training, certification, and tools for employees to enhance compliance, including for human resources specialists to support managers in areas such as discipline;
    • a deputy minister committee to ensure consistent application of disciplinary measures and appropriate follow-through; and
    • disciplinary codes in departments to provide clarity on types of misconduct and the corresponding range of consequences.

What this means for Canadians

For Canadians, these measures will strengthen accountability and ensure that all government officials, from ministers to employees, are aware of their responsibilities under law and government policy and of the consequences of breaching them. They will clarify the roles and responsibilities of deputy ministers and, together with a stronger internal audit capacity, help ensure that departments are well managed to meet the needs of Canadians. Finally, they will strengthen enforcement of government financial guidelines and toughen penalties for the misuse of taxpayers’ money.



Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Plan d'action sur l'imputabilité fédérale, avril 2006


Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Renforcer la vérification et la responsabilisation des ministères 

Nous tenons nos engagements

  • Désignation des sous-ministres à titre d’administrateurs des comptes
  • Un processus clair de résolution des différends entre les ministres et les sous-ministres
  • Renforcement des fonctions de vérification interne dans les ministères
  • Renforcement des structures de gouvernance des sociétés d’État
  • Peines plus sévères pour l’utilisation frauduleuse des fonds publics
  • Méthode uniforme pour promouvoir le respect des lois et des politiques et assurer l’exécution des mesures disciplinaires

« Des services de vérification interne indépendants, objectifs et opportuns au sein des ministères fournissent une assurance aux sous- ministres et renforcent les bonnes pratiques de gestion et la prise de décisions éclairées. »

Pourquoi nous agissons ainsi

Selon le principe de la responsabilité ministérielle, les ministres assument la responsabilité de tous les pouvoirs, législatifs ou autres, qui leur sont conférés et en rendent comptent au Parlement. Pour ce qui concerne leur ministère, ils doivent rendre compte au Parlement et au premier ministre de leurs propres actions et des mesures que prennent leurs représentants officiels à l'égard des politiques, des activités ou de l'administration ministérielle. Plus particulièrement, ils sont responsables de la gestion et de l’orientation de leurs ministères respectifs. Cette responsabilisation doit être étayée par des mécanismes de contrôle appropriés, ce qui comprend notamment de bonnes communications entre les ministres et les sous-ministres qui, à leur tour, assument la responsabilité de la gestion de leurs ministères respectifs. Il est essentiel, dans le cadre des responsabilités globales des ministres et de leur obligation de rendre compte au Parlement, que les rôles et responsabilités des sous-ministres soient clairement énoncés.

Des services de vérification interne indépendants, objectifs et opportuns au sein des ministères fournissent une assurance aux ministres et aux sous-ministres et renforcent les bonnes pratiques de gestion et la prise de décisions éclairées. Elles permettent également au Conseil du Trésor de porter son attention sur les questions stratégiques pangouvernementales relatives au risque.

La Loi fédérale sur l’imputabilité permettra d’apporter les changements suivants :

  • La Loi désignera les sous-ministres et les administrateurs généraux à titre d'administrateurs des comptes de leur ministère respectif, dans le cadre des responsabilités ministérielles. Les sous-ministres et les administrateurs généraux devront comparaître devant les comités parlementaires appropriés pour répondre aux questions liées à leurs responsabilités qui consistent à :
    • s'assurer que les ressources sont structurées de manière à permettre l'atteinte des objectifs ministériels conformément aux politiques et procédures gouvernementales;
    • s'assurer qu'il existe des mécanismes efficaces de contrôle interne;
    • signer les comptes ministériels;
    • exécuter d'autres tâches précises conférées par une loi ou un règlement à l'égard de l'administration du ministère.
  • La Loi exigera de suivre un processus clair en cas de désaccord entre le ministre et le sous-ministre au sujet de l'interprétation ou de l'application des politiques, des directives ou des normes du Conseil du Trésor. Dans ce cas, la Loi exigera :Parlement du Canada
    • que le sous-ministre sollicite des consignes écrites du secrétaire du Conseil du Trésor;
    • que, en cas d'impasse, le ministre demande au Conseil du Trésor de trancher;
    • qu’une copie de la décision du Conseil du Trésor soit communiquée à la vérificatrice générale à titre de document confidentiel du Conseil privé de la Reine.
  • La Loi obligera les administrateurs généraux à s'assurer de disposer des mécanismes de vérification interne appropriés et à établir des comités ministériels de vérification.
  • La Loi veillera à ce que les comités de vérification au sein des sociétés d'État soient indépendants des dirigeants de ces dernières, en interdisant aux agents ou aux employés de la société de faire partie du comité de vérification.
  • Selon la Loi, les postes de dirigeant principal et de président du conseil d'administration seront occupés par deux personnes différentes à la Commission de la capitale nationale, à la Commission canadienne du lait et à la Société d'expansion du Cap-Breton, pour que ces sociétés se conforment aux bonnes pratiques de gouvernance des sociétés. Le fait que deux personnes différentes occupent les postes de dirigeant principal et de président du conseil d’administration permettra de clarifier les responsabilités : le conseil d'administration rendra des comptes au ministre responsable au chapitre de la gérance de la société, et le dirigeant principal répondra devant le conseil d'administration pour la gestion et le rendement de la société.
  • La Loi permettra de nommer les membres du conseil d’administration des sociétés d’État pour une période pouvant atteindre quatre ans au lieu de trois, comme c’est le cas actuellement. Cette mesure permettra d'assurer la continuité et le maintien de l'expertise au sein des conseils d'administration.
  • Selon la Loi, les fraudes commises par des fonctionnaires relativement aux fonds publics constitueront une infraction aux termes de la Loi sur l’administration des finances publiques. Cette infraction serait passible d'une peine d'emprisonnement maximale de cinq ans pour les fraudes de 5 000 $ ou moins et de 14 ans pour les fraudes de plus de 5 000 $. En outre, selon la Loi sur l’administration des finances publiques et des modifications qui seront apportées au Code criminel du Canada, quiconque est reconnu coupable d’une telle infraction sera congédié, et il lui sera interdit de conclure un marché avec le gouvernement du Canada. La Loi créera une infraction semblable pour les sociétés d’État.

En outre, nous adopterons les mesures suivantes :

  • Nous mettrons en œuvre la nouvelle Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur la vérification interne, qui est entrée en vigueur le 1er avril 2006. La politique préconise une vérification interne rigoureuse à l'échelle du gouvernement en répartissant les responsabilités entre les administrateurs généraux et le contrôleur général. Ce dernier fournit un leadership fonctionnel, suit les activités de vérification interne à l'échelle du gouvernement et mène les vérifications horizontales nécessaires dans les domaines à risque élevé qui transcendent les ministères et les organismes. Le gouvernement renforcera l’autonomie des vérificateurs en établissant des comités de vérification composés principalement de membres provenant de l’extérieur de la fonction publique. On nommera des dirigeants principaux de la vérification qui relèveront directement des administrateurs généraux et fonctionnellement du contrôleur général.
  • Nous élaborerons un cadre de conformité qui comprendra :
    • la formation et l'accréditation des employés, ainsi que des spécialistes des ressources humaines pour appuyer les gestionnaires dans des domaines tels que la discipline et la mise à leur disposition des outils requis pour accroître la conformité;
    • la mise sur pied d'un comité de sous-ministres qui veillera à l'application uniforme des mesures disciplinaires et au suivi qui s'imposera;
    • l'instauration de codes disciplinaires dans les ministères pour préciser les genres d'inconduite et la gamme correspondante de conséquences.

Ce que cela signifie pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens

Ces mesures permettront de renforcer la responsabilisation et de veiller à ce que tous les représentants officiels du gouvernement, des ministres jusqu’aux employés, soient au courant de leurs responsabilités en vertu des lois et des politiques gouvernementales, ainsi que des conséquences qu’entraînera tout manquement à cet égard. Elles permettront aussi de préciser les rôles et responsabilités des sous-ministres et, grâce à des mécanismes de vérification interne plus rigoureux, d’assurer la saine gestion des ministères de façon à répondre aux besoins des Canadiennes et des Canadiens. Enfin, ces mesures permettront d’assurer un meilleur respect des directives financières du gouvernement et d’imposer des peines plus sévères en cas d’usage inapproprié des fonds publics.



Date de modification :