We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Federal Accountability Action Plan, April 2006


Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Strengthening the power of the Auditor General

Delivering on our commitments

  • New powers for the Auditor General to audit individuals and organizations that receive federal money
  • Ongoing departmental reviews of granting programs enshrined in law
  • An independent blue-ribbon panel to identify barriers to access for recipients of government grants and contributions programs

The federal government spends some $26 billion per year on grants and contributions to individuals, companies, and non-governmental organizations.

Why we are doing this

One of the most important roles of Parliament is to hold the government to account for its use of taxpayers’ dollars. To do this effectively, parliamentarians need objective and fact-based information about how well the government raises and spends public funds. The Auditor General is an independent and reliable source of such information. The Auditor General audits federal departments and agencies, most Crown corporations, and many other federal organizations; reports up to four times a year to the House of Commons on matters that the Auditor General believes should be brought to the attention of the House; and testifies on audits before parliamentary committees.

The Federal Accountability Act will introduce the following changes:

  • The Act will give the Auditor General authority to inquire, at his or her discretion, into the use of funds that individuals, institutions, and companies receive under a funding agreement with any federal department, agency, or Crown corporation. See footnote 5
  • It will require that the Government include in funding agreements with recipients provisions that support Auditor General audits. More specifically, funding agreements will:
    • prescribe that recipients maintain records with respect to federal funding provided;
    • create a contractual right for the Auditor General to inquire into the use of funding provided; and
    • require that recipients provide information and records to the Auditor General on request.
  • The Act will provide immunity for the Auditor General from criminal and civil proceedings, and protection from being a compellable witness, for actions taken in the performance of his or her statutory duties.
  • It will require that every department review, at least once every five years, the relevance and effectiveness of each ongoing grants and contributions program for which it is responsible. Grants or contributions to individuals, corporations, and non-government organizations account for $26 billion in annual transfer-payment spending. The Treasury Board will determine the scope of these reviews, how they are approached, and when departments will submit reports to the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat.

In addition, we will introduce the following measures:

  • We will ensure that the Office of the Auditor General has adequate resources to fulfill its mandate. The Auditor General is one of five Agents of Parliament currently participating in a two-year pilot project in which an all-party Parliamentary Advisory Panel considers the funding requests of Agents prior to a final Treasury Board decision on their budgets. This process gives Parliament a greater role and respects the independence of Agents of Parliament, while allowing the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat to provide input on panel recommendations. The Government will work with the House Leaders to continue this pilot process, the results of which will inform longer term decisions on the means of ensuring adequate funding for the Office of the Auditor General.
  • We will continue to respond publicly to the Auditor General’s recommendations and ensure that independent departmental audit committees monitor the implementation of corrective action plans.
  • We will establish an independent blue-ribbon panel with a mandate to:
    • review the draft policy on transfer payments, along with its directives and related departmental practices;
    • identify barriers to access for recipients of government grants and contributions programs and recommend changes to policies and practices to ensure that Government delivery of those programs is fair, economical, and efficient;
    • give consideration to eliminating legislative barriers and constraints; and
    • report to the President of the Treasury Board by December 2006.
  • We will issue a new policy on transfer payments to reflect recommendations stemming from both the Auditor General’s May report on voted grants and contributions and the blue-ribbon panel.
  • We will look for ways to reduce the number of financial management policies to clarify roles and responsibilities and institute a more coherent set of requirements. We will mandate a committee of deputy ministers, including the Secretary of the Treasury Board and the Comptroller General, to consult with stakeholders and:
    • review and bring forward recommendations to strengthen and streamline Treasury Board financial management policies;
    • identify where unnecessary or unproductive policy or legislative requirements exist and recommend basic principles of management accountability and transparency for the policies;
    • give consideration to eliminating legislative barriers and constraints;
    • recommend measures, including training strategies, so that the Government has the skilled financial experts it needs to ensure effective financial control and accountability; and
    • report to the President of the Treasury Board on its findings and recommendations by December 2006.
  • We will examine the entire suite of Treasury Board policies. This initiative will aim to reduce the number of Treasury Board policies by more than half, clarify the management responsibilities and accountabilities of ministers and deputy heads, and clarify the responsibilities of functional experts. The renewed policies will also establish clear compliance requirements and consequences.

What this means for Canadians

These changes will give Canadians reassurance that their government is using their tax dollars wisely. They will strengthen the role of the Auditor General as an independent and reliable source of information about government spending. To maximize the use of taxpayer money, the Government will ensure that it roots out non-performing or irrelevant programs. Finally, these measures will enhance the ability of Canadians and organizations to access government programs and services, and ensure that third parties that receive federal funding are not faced with an unnecessary administrative burden.



Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Plan d'action sur l'imputabilité fédérale, avril 2006


Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Renforcer les pouvoirs de la vérificatrice générale

Nous tenons nos engagements

  • Nouveaux pouvoirs conférés à la vérificatrice générale pour lui permettre de faire des vérifications auprès de particuliers et d’organisations qui reçoivent de l’argent du fédéral
  • Obligation légale de soumettre les programmes subventionnaires à des examens ministériels permanents
  • Établissement d’un groupe indépendant d'experts chargé de recenser les obstacles auxquels font face les personnes qui cherchent à obtenir des subventions et des contributions

Le gouvernement fédéral verse chaque année des subventions et des contributions d'une valeur de 26 milliards de dollars à des particuliers, des entreprises et des organisations non gouvernementales.

Pourquoi nous agissons ainsi

Un des rôles les plus importants du Parlement consiste à obliger le gouvernement à rendre compte de son utilisation de l'argent des contribuables. Pour le faire avec efficacité, les parlementaires ont besoin d'information factuelle et objective sur la manière dont le gouvernement prélève et dépense les fonds publics. La vérificatrice générale constitue une source fiable et indépendante de cette information. Elle mène des vérifications auprès des ministères et organismes, de la plupart des sociétés d'État et de bon nombre d'autres institutions fédérales, fait rapport à la Chambre des communes jusqu'à quatre fois par année sur les questions qui, à son avis, doivent être portées à l'attention de la Chambre et comparaît devant des comités parlementaires au sujet des vérifications menées.  

La Loi fédérale sur l’imputabilité permettra d’apporter les changements suivants :

  • La Loi conférera à la vérificatrice générale le pouvoir discrétionnaire de mener une enquête sur l'utilisation des fonds que des particuliers, des institutions et des entreprises reçoivent dans le cadre d'un accord de financement avec n'importe quel ministère ou organisme fédéral ou société d'État. Voir la note en bas de page 5
  • La Loi obligera aussi le gouvernement à inclure dans les accords de financement avec les bénéficiaires des dispositions visant à faciliter les vérifications de la vérificatrice générale. Plus précisément, les accords de financement :
    • obligeront les bénéficiaires à tenir des registres des fonds reçus du gouvernement fédéral;
    • conféreront à la vérificatrice générale le droit contractuel d'enquêter sur l'utilisation des fonds versés;
    • obligeront les bénéficiaires à fournir sur demande à la vérificatrice générale l'information et les dossiers nécessaires.
  • La Loi accordera à la vérificatrice générale l'immunité à l'égard de poursuites intentées au criminel et au civil et la protégera contre la possibilité d'être citée comme témoin contraignable relativement aux mesures prises dans l'exercice de ses fonctions officielles.
  • La Loi obligera tous les ministères à revoir, au moins tous les cinq ans, la pertinence et l'efficacité de chacun des programmes permanents de subventions et de contributions qu'ils administrent. Les subventions et contributions versées aux particuliers, aux sociétés et aux organismes non gouvernementaux représentent 26 milliards de dollars en dépenses annuelles au titre des paiements de transfert. Le Conseil du Trésor déterminera la portée de ces examens, la démarche à utiliser et quand les ministères devront fournir des rapports au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada.

En outre, nous adopterons les mesures suivantes :

  • Nous veillerons à ce que le Bureau du vérificateur général dispose des ressources nécessaires pour remplir son mandat. La vérificatrice générale est l'un des cinq mandataires du Parlement qui participent actuellement à un projet pilote de deux ans en vertu duquel un comité consultatif parlementaire composé de membres de tous les partis examine les demandes de financement des mandataires avant que le Conseil du Trésor rende une décision définitive à l'égard de leurs budgets respectifs. Ce processus confère un rôle plus important au Parlement et respecte l'autonomie des mandataires du Parlement, tout en permettant au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada de prendre part à l'élaboration des recommandations du comité consultatif. Le gouvernement collaborera avec les leaders parlementaires afin de poursuivre ce projet pilote. Selon les résultats obtenus, on pourra se prononcer à long terme sur les moyens à prendre pour assurer le financement adéquat du Bureau du vérificateur général.
  • Nous continuerons de répondre publiquement aux recommandations de la vérificatrice générale et de veiller à ce que les comités de vérification indépendants assurent le suivi des plans d'action ministériels.
  • Nous créerons un groupe indépendant d’experts doté du mandat suivant :
    • revoir l’ébauche de la politique sur les paiements de transfert, ainsi que les directives qu’elle renferme et les pratiques ministérielles connexes;
    • recenser les obstacles auxquels font face les personnes qui cherchent à obtenir des subventions et des contributions gouvernementales et recommander des modifications à apporter aux politiques et pratiques gouvernementales afin d’assurer l’exécution équitable, économique et efficace des programmes de subventions et contributions;
    • envisager d'éliminer les contraintes et obstacles d'ordre législatif;
    • faire rapport au président du Conseil du Trésor d'ici décembre 2006.
  • Nous publierons une nouvelle politique sur les paiements de transfert qui tiendra compte des recommandations découlant du rapport que la vérificatrice générale déposera en mai sur les subventions et contributions votées, de même que des travaux du groupe indépendant d'experts.
  • Nous chercherons à réduire le nombre des politiques de gestion financière en place afin de clarifier les rôles et responsabilités et d’établir une série d'exigences plus cohérentes. Nous chargerons un comité de sous-ministres, composé entre autres du secrétaire du Conseil du Trésor et du contrôleur général, de consulter les intervenants, en plus de lui confier les tâches suivantes :
    • revoir les politiques de gestion financière du Conseil du Trésor et formuler des recommandations en vue de les renforcer et de les simplifier;
    • cerner les exigences inutiles ou improductives des politiques ou des lois et recommander des principes de base en matière de responsabilité de gestion et de transparence pour les politiques;
    • envisager d'éliminer les contraintes et obstacles d'ordre législatif;
    • recommander des mesures, y compris des stratégies de formation, visant à faire en sorte que le gouvernement dispose des experts financiers dont il a besoin pour assurer une responsabilisation et un contrôle financier efficaces;
    • présenter d'ici décembre 2006 au président du Conseil du Trésor un rapport sur ses constatations et recommandations.
  • Nous examinerons toute la série de politiques du Conseil du Trésor. Cette initiative visera à réduire de plus de la moitié le nombre de ces politiques, à préciser les obligations et les responsabilités de gestion des ministres et des administrateurs généraux et à établir une distinction claire entre leurs attributions et celles des experts fonctionnels. Nous intégrerons également aux politiques renouvelées des exigences et conséquences claires en matière de conformité.

Ce que cela signifie pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens

Ces modifications donneront aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens l’assurance que le gouvernement fait bon usage de l’argent des contribuables. Elles renforceront le rôle de la vérificatrice générale à titre de source d’information indépendante et fiable sur les dépenses gouvernementales. Pour maximiser l’utilisation de l’argent des contribuables, le gouvernement s’assurera de supprimer les programmes qui ne sont plus productifs ni pertinents. Enfin, ces mesures permettront d’accroître la capacité des Canadiennes et des Canadiens ainsi que des organisations d'avoir accès aux programmes et services gouvernementaux et de faire en sorte que les tierces parties qui reçoivent des fonds du gouvernement fédéral ne se heurtent pas à un fardeau administratif inutile.



Date de modification :