We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Federal Accountability Action Plan, April 2006


Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Strengthening access to information legislation

Delivering on our commitments

  • Expansion of Access to Information Act coverage to include:
    • Seven Agents and Officers of Parliament: the Offices of the Information Commissioner, the Privacy Commissioner, the Commissioner of Official Languages, the Chief Electoral Officer, the Auditor General, the Public Sector Integrity Commissioner, and the Commissioner of Lobbying
    • Seven Crown corporations: Canada Post, Via Rail, the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, Atomic Energy of Canada, Export Development Canada, the National Arts Centre, and the Public Sector Pension Investment Board
    • Three foundations: Canada Foundation for Innovation, Canada Foundation for Sustainable Development Technology, and the Canada Millennium Scholarship Foundation
  • A draft bill that reflects the Information Commissioner’s recommendations and a discussion paper tabled for consideration and debate

In 2004-05, the Government of Canada received 25,207 requests under the Access to Information Act.

Why we are doing this

Access to government information allows Canadians and organizations to participate more fully in public policy development and better assess the Government of Canada’s performance in order to hold it to account. The Government must instil the public trust and respect the public interest by encouraging the greatest degree of openness and transparency, while taking into account legitimate concerns such as personal privacy, commercial confidentiality, and protection of intergovernmental affairs.

The Access to Information Act became law in 1983. The legislation is based on a number of principles: that effective accountability depends on knowing the information and options available to government decision makers; that government documents often contain information vital to the effective participation of citizens and organizations in public policy development; that government is the single most important storehouse of information about our society, and that, as a public resource, this information should be made available wherever possible; that necessary exceptions to the right of access should be limited and specific; and that decisions on the disclosure of government information should be reviewed independent of government.

Since the Access to Information Act became law, much has changed in the federal government, in Canada, and around the world. Accordingly, there have been numerous calls for reform of the Access to Information Act, most recently from the Information Commissioner, who in September 2005 proposed a series of changes to the Act to the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics.

The Federal Accountability Act will introduce the following changes:

  • The Act will expand the coverage of the Access to Information Act, the Privacy Act, and the Library and Archives of Canada Act to include the following organizations:
    • the Offices of the Information Commissioner, the Privacy Commissioner, the Commissioner of Official Languages, the Chief Electoral Officer, the Auditor General, the Public Sector Integrity Commissioner, and the Commissioner of Lobbying;
    • Canada Post, Via Rail Canada, the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, Atomic Energy of Canada, Export Development Canada, the National Arts Centre, and the Public Sector Pension Investment Board; and
    • Canada Foundation for Innovation, Canada Foundation for Sustainable Development Technology, and the Canada Millennium Scholarship Foundation.
  • It will provide a duty for institutions to assist requesters without regard to their identity, and will clarify the time limit for making a complaint under the Access to Information Act.
  • It will increase the number of investigators the Information Commissioner may use for investigations concerning information related to defence or national security.

In addition, we will:

  • immediately table in Parliament a separate draft bill that reflects the Information Commissioner’s recommendations for access reform; and
  • table at the same time a discussion paper to highlight a variety of issues and options for discussion, including the following:
    • the possible extension of the Access to Information Act to include more organizations;
    • the principles of exemptions and exclusions;
    • factors related to the efficiency and effectiveness of the request process;
    • the appropriate roles for the Information Commissioner and designated ministers;
    • possible approaches to a duty to document; and
    • the costs related to various proposals under consideration.

The Access to Information Act is a complex piece of legislation, with a broad constituency across many sectors of society and widely divergent views on its administration. The Information Commissioner’s proposed amendments, for example, would require more than 88 changes or additions to 46 provisions of the Access to Information Act. When the Information Commissioner appeared before the Standing Committee, he advised them that his recommendations had not had the benefit of consultations with stakeholders.

A separate process will allow the parliamentary committee to engage in a comprehensive debate in consultation with a broad range of stakeholders, and to issue a report when it reaches the end of its deliberations. This approach is necessary to balance the value of transparency with the legitimate interests of individuals, other governments, and third parties in the security and confidentiality of their dealings with government.  It will also allow for diverse views to be heard, and for the resulting legislation to find broad support after comprehensive analysis and full debate.

What this means for Canadians

By expanding the coverage of the Access to Information Act, the Government will become more transparent and more open. It will provide Canadians with access to more information from Crown corporations, Agents of Parliament, and government-funded foundations. At the same time, the Government will explore ways to further strengthen access to information legislation in consultation with parliamentarians and Canadians to ensure that their concerns receive careful attention. Doing so will ensure a measured approach to access reform that will allow the Government to widen access while mitigating costs and unintended consequences on stakeholders, partners, and government programs.



Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Plan d'action sur l'imputabilité fédérale, avril 2006


Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Renforcer la législation sur l’accès à l’information

Nous tenons nos engagements

  • Extension de l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information aux entités suivantes :
    • sept sociétés d’État : Postes Canada, VIA Rail, la Société Radio-Canada, Énergie atomique du Canada, Exportation et développement Canada, le Centre national des Arts et l'Office d'investissement des régimes de pensions du secteur public;
    • sept mandataires et hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement : les bureaux du commissaire à l'information, du commissaire à la protection de la vie privée, du commissaire aux langues officielles, du directeur général des élections, du vérificateur général, du commissaire à l'intégrité du secteur public et du commissaire au lobbying;
    • trois fondations : la Fondation canadienne pour l'innovation, la Fondation du Canada pour l'appui technologique au développement durable et la Fondation canadienne des bourses d'études du millénaire.
  • Un projet de loi qui tient compte des recommandations du commissaire à l’information et un document de travail déposés pour examen et discussion

En 2004-2005, le gouvernement du Canada a reçu 25 207 demandes en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

Pourquoi nous agissons ainsi

L'accès à l'information gouvernementale permet aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens ainsi qu’aux organisations de participer plus pleinement à l'élaboration de la politique publique et de mieux évaluer le rendement du gouvernement du Canada pour lui demander des comptes. Le gouvernement doit gagner la confiance du public et respecter l'intérêt public en favorisant le plus haut degré possible d'ouverture et de transparence, tout en tenant compte de préoccupations légitimes telles que la protection des renseignements personnels, la confidentialité des données commerciales et la protection des affaires intergouvernementales.

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information, entrée en vigueur en 1983, repose sur les principes suivants : pour que la responsabilisation soit efficace, il faut disposer des renseignements nécessaires et connaître les options qui s'offrent aux décisionnaires; les documents gouvernementaux contiennent souvent des renseignements essentiels à la participation efficace des citoyens et des organisations à l'élaboration de la politique publique; le gouvernement est le plus important détenteur de renseignements sur notre société et, à titre de ressource publique, cette information devrait être accessible au public dans toute la mesure possible; les exceptions nécessaires au droit d'accès à l'information doivent être limitées et spécifiques; les décisions relatives à la communication de renseignements gouvernementaux doivent être revues par des tiers indépendants du gouvernement.

Depuis l'entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, bien des choses ont changé au gouvernement fédéral, au Canada et dans le monde. Il s'ensuit que de nombreuses demandes de réforme ont été formulées à l'égard de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, plus récemment par le commissaire à l'information qui, en septembre 2005, a proposé une série de changements à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information au Comité permanent de l'accès à l'information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l'éthique.

La Loi fédérale sur l’imputabilité permettra d’apporter les changements suivants :

  • La Loi étendra l’application de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, de la Loi sur la protection de la vie privée et de la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada aux organisations suivantes :
    • les bureaux du commissaire à l'information, du commissaire à la protection de la vie privée, du commissaire aux langues officielles, du directeur général des élections, du vérificateur général, du commissaire à l'intégrité du secteur public et du commissaire au lobbying;
    • Postes Canada, VIA Rail Canada, la Société Radio-Canada, Énergie atomique du Canada, Exportation et développement Canada, le Centre national des Arts et l'Office d'investissement des régimes de pensions du secteur public;
    • la Fondation canadienne pour l'innovation, la Fondation du Canada pour l'appui technologique au développement durable et la Fondation canadienne des bourses d'études du millénaire.
  • La Loi obligera les institutions à aider les requérants, peu importe leur identité, et précisera le délai accordé pour présenter une plainte en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.
  • La Loi prévoira également une augmentation du nombre d'enquêteurs auxquels le commissaire à l'information peut recourir pour mener des enquêtes concernant l'information touchant la défense ou la sécurité nationale.

En outre, nous comptons prendre les mesures suivantes :

  • déposer immédiatement devant le Parlement un projet de loi distinct qui reflètera les recommandations du commissaire à l'information envers la réforme de l'accès à l'information;
  • déposer en même temps un document de travail faisant ressortir divers enjeux et options à débattre, dont les suivants :
    • la possibilité d’étendre l’application de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information à d’autres organisations;
    • les principes relatifs aux exemptions et aux exclusions;
    • les facteurs liés à l’efficacité du processus de demande d’accès à l’information;
    • les rôles qu’il conviendrait de confier au commissaire à l’information et aux ministres désignés;
    • les approches possibles concernant l’obligation de documenter;
    • les coûts liés aux diverses propositions à l’étude.

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information est une loi complexe, vise divers milieux dans de nombreux secteurs de la société et suscite une grande divergence d'opinion quant à son administration. Par exemple, les modifications proposées par le commissaire à l'information nécessiteraient plus de 88 amendements ou ajouts à 46 dispositions de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Lorsque le commissaire à l'information a comparu devant le Comité permanent, il l’a informé que ses recommandations n'avaient pas fait l'objet de
consultations auprès des intervenants.

Un processus distinct permettra au Comité parlementaire d'entamer un débat exhaustif en consultation avec plusieurs intervenants et de publier un rapport à la fin de ses délibérations. Cette approche est nécessaire pour établir un équilibre entre l'importance de la transparence et les intérêts légitimes des particuliers, d'autres administrations et de tierces parties au chapitre de la sécurité et de la confidentialité de leurs rapports avec le gouvernement. Cette approche permettra également l'expression de divers points de vue, de sorte que la législation qui en découlera trouvera un accueil généralement favorable après une analyse approfondie et un débat complet.

Ce que cela signifie pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens

Le fait d’étendre le champ d’application de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information rendra le gouvernement plus transparent et plus ouvert. Cela permettra aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens d’avoir accès à plus de renseignements provenant des sociétés d’État, des mandataires du Parlement et des fondations financées par l’État. Du même coup, le gouvernement examinera, de concert avec les parlementaires ainsi qu’avec les Canadiennes et les Canadiens, des façons de renforcer davantage la législation relative à l'accès à l'information pour faire en sorte que leurs préoccupations reçoivent toute l'attention voulue. Cette démarche favorisera une approche dosée à l'égard de la réforme de l'accès à l'information, ce qui permettra au gouvernement du Canada d’élargir l’accès à l’information tout en atténuant les coûts et toute conséquence imprévue pour les intervenants, les partenaires et les programmes gouvernementaux.  



Date de modification :