We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Federal Accountability Action Plan, April 2006


Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Reforming the financing of political parties

Delivering on our commitment

  • New limits on individual donations to parties or candidates
  • A ban on contributions from corporations, unions, and organizations to parties or candidates
  • A longer period to prosecute violations under the Canada Elections Act

Why we are doing this

The Canada Elections Act governs campaign donations and the financing of political parties and candidates in Canada. The law ensures transparency and regulates the financial relations and operations of political parties and candidates. However, more needs to be done to rebuild public confidence in the integrity of the democratic process, and to ensure that influence cannot be bought through political donations. Donations from corporations, unions, and organizations are of particular concern, since they currently allow for a contribution of funds from unknown original sources.

The Government of Canada will toughen the laws around the financing of political parties and candidates to reduce the opportunity to exert influence through large donations.

Quebec, Manitoba, the United States, and France are a few of the jurisdictions that ban donations by corporations, unions, and organizations.

The Federal Accountability Act will:

  • impose a complete ban on contributions by corporations, unions, and organizations;
  • lower from $5,000 to $1,000 the annual limit on contributions an individual can make to a particular registered party;
  • lower from $5,000 to $1,000 the annual limit on contributions an individual can make to the local entities of a particular registered party (candidates, nomination contestants, and district associations);
  • lower to $1,000 the contribution an individual can make to party leadership contestants;
  • lower to $1,000 the contribution that a candidate, a nomination contestant, or a leadership contestant can make to his or her own campaign, in addition to the above limits;
  • prohibit cash donations to political parties and candidates of more than $20, lower from $25 to $20 the amount after which a receipt must be issued, and lower from $25 to $20 the amount individuals may donate through a “passing of the hat”;
  • make it an offence for the person authorized to receive the donation on behalf of a party or candidate to knowingly accept cash donations of more than $20, and for the person contributing to willfully make a cash donation of more than $20; and
  • extend the period for instituting prosecutions under the Canada Elections Act from 7 to 10 years after the day on which the offence was committed (investigations must be completed and a prosecution initiated no later than 5 years after the Commissioner of Canada Elections becomes aware of the incident).

What this means for Canadians

These changes will increase transparency, reduce opportunities to influence politicians with contributions, and help Canadians feel more confident about the integrity of the democratic process. They will level the playing field among individual contributors, and encourage political parties to engage the electorate more directly.



Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Plan d'action sur l'imputabilité fédérale, avril 2006


Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Réformer le financement des partis politiques

Nous tenons nos engagements

  • Nouvelles limites quant aux contributions que des particuliers peuvent verser aux partis ou aux candidats
  • Interdiction aux sociétés, syndicats et organisations de verser des contributions aux partis ou aux candidats
  • Prolongation de la période au cours de laquelle une poursuite peut être intentée par suite d’infractions à la Loi électorale du Canada

Pourquoi nous agissons ainsi

La Loi électorale du Canada régit les dons versés dans le cadre des campagnes électorales et le financement des partis politiques et des candidats au Canada. La Loi assure la transparence et réglemente les activités et relations financières des partis politiques et des candidats. Il faut cependant faire davantage pour ramener la confiance du public dans l’intégrité du processus démocratique et veiller à ce que l’influence ne puisse s’acheter avec des contributions politiques. Les contributions des sociétés, des syndicats et des organisations sont particulièrement préoccupantes, car, à l’heure actuelle, celles-ci peuvent provenir de sources inconnues.

Le gouvernement du Canada renforcera les lois qui régissent le financement des partis politiques et des candidats pour réduire la possibilité que des gens exercent une influence en versant des contributions importantes.

Le Québec, le Manitoba, les États-Unis et la France ne sont que quelques exemples d'administrations qui ont banni les dons de sociétés, de syndicats et d'organisations.

La Loi fédérale sur l’imputabilité :

  • interdira toutes les contributions des sociétés, des syndicats et des organisations;
  • ramènera de 5 000 $ à 1 000 $ la limite annuelle des contributions que peut verser un particulier à un parti enregistré donné;
  • ramènera de 5 000 $ à 1 000 $ la limite annuelle des contributions que peut verser un particulier aux entités locales de chacun des partis enregistrés (candidats, candidats à l'investiture et associations de district);
  • ramènera à 1 000 $ le montant des contributions qu'un particulier peut verser aux candidats à la direction d’un parti;
  • ramènera à 1 000 $ le montant de la contribution qu'un candidat, un candidat à l'investiture ou un candidat à la direction peut verser à sa propre campagne en plus des limites mentionnées ci-dessus;
  • interdira les contributions en espèces de plus de 20 $ aux partis politiques et aux candidats et abaissera de 25 $ à 20 $ le montant des contributions exigeant l'émission d'un reçu et le montant qu'un particulier peut donner lorsqu'on « passe le chapeau »;
  • interdira à la personne autorisée à recevoir la contribution au nom du parti ou du candidat, d'accepter sciemment des contributions de plus de 20 $ et à la personne versant la contribution de verser sciemment plus de 20 $;
  • fera passer de 7 à 10 ans la période au cours de laquelle une poursuite peut être intentée en vertu de la Loi électorale du Canada à la suite d'une infraction (le commissaire aux élections fédérales est tenu de compléter son enquête et d'intenter des poursuites au plus tard cinq ans après avoir été informé d'une infraction).

Ce que cela signifie pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens

Ces changements permettront d’accroître la transparence, de réduire la possibilité d’influencer les politiciens en leur versant des contributions et d’aider les Canadiens à se sentir plus confiants à l’égard de l’intégrité du processus démocratique. Ils placeront les donateurs sur un pied d’égalité et inciteront les partis politiques à faire participer plus directement l’électorat. 



Date de modification :