We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Federal Accountability Action Plan, April 2006


Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Introduction

Flag of CanadaAccountability is the foundation on which Canada’s system of responsible government rests. A strong accountability regime assures Parliament and Canadians that the Government of Canada is using public resources efficiently and effectively. It also promotes ethical practice—actions undertaken in government must be motivated by the public interest and carried out in accordance with legislation and policy. Effective accountability also means that those who manage public resources must be prepared to report openly on results achieved.

In a culture of accountability, roles and responsibilities are clear so that people know what is expected of them and answer for their performance; appropriate rewards for good performance are in place; and there are swift consequences in cases where rules are knowingly broken. Furthermore, a high degree of transparency makes government more accountable, and is vital to the effective participation of citizens and organizations in developing public policy.

Canadians have every right to expect that public-office holders and public-sector employees will be guided by the highest standards of ethical conduct. Recent political scandals—notably those concerning government sponsorship and advertising activities—have contributed to a further erosion of Canadians’ trust and confidence in government, and have brought issues of accountability, transparency, and integrity to the forefront of public discussion and debate.

This Action Plan represents the Government of Canada’s response to those concerns. It is a blueprint for more accountable, open, and ethical government.

In its pursuit of greater effectiveness and accountability, the Government has made sure that the measures contained in this Action Plan strike an appropriate balance between oversight and flexibility. It has recognized that, within this new accountability regime, the public service must maintain its capacity to deliver important programs to Canadians efficiently and effectively. Accordingly, the Government will streamline its management policies to replace superfluous controls and rules that hinder the effectiveness of the public service, and will consult with stakeholders on ways to reduce barriers that inhibit access to government.



Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Plan d'action sur l'imputabilité fédérale, avril 2006


Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Introduction

Drapeau du CanadaLa responsabilisation constitue la pierre d'angle du régime canadien de gouvernement responsable. Un régime rigoureux de responsabilisation est essentiel pour garantir au Parlement et à la population canadienne que le gouvernement du Canada utilise efficacement les ressources publiques. Il permet aussi de promouvoir des pratiques éthiques—les mesures gouvernementales doivent être motivées par l’intérêt public et exécutées dans le respect des lois et des politiques en vigueur. Une responsabilisation efficace suppose également que les gestionnaires des ressources publiques doivent être prêts à faire rapport ouvertement sur les résultats atteints.

Dans une culture de responsabilisation, les rôles et responsabilités sont clairement définis, de sorte que les gens savent ce que l'on attend d'eux et qu'ils répondent de leur rendement, le bon rendement est dûment récompensé et il existe des conséquences immédiates lorsque les règles sont sciemment contournées. De plus, un degré élevé de transparence rend le gouvernement plus responsable et est essentiel à la participation efficace des citoyens et des organisations à l’élaboration de la politique publique.

Les Canadiennes et les Canadiens sont tout à fait en droit de s'attendre à ce que les titulaires de charge publique et les fonctionnaires respectent les normes de conduite éthique les plus exigeantes. Les récents scandales politiques—notamment dans le dossier des activités de commandite et de publicité de l’État—ont contribué à miner davantage la confiance de la population canadienne envers le gouvernement et font en sorte que les questions de responsabilisation, de transparence et d'intégrité sont au cœur du débat public.

Le présent plan d’action permet au gouvernement du Canada de réagir à ces préoccupations. Il s’agit d’un plan directeur visant à rendre le gouvernement plus responsable, ouvert et éthique.

Dans l'optique de l'accroissement de l'efficacité et de la responsabilisation, le gouvernement a fait en sorte que les mesures prévues dans son plan d'action établissent un juste équilibre entre la surveillance et la souplesse. Il reconnaît que, dans le contexte de ce nouveau régime de responsabilisation, les fonctionnaires doivent continuer de pouvoir exécuter efficacement les programmes importants qui sont offerts à la population canadienne. Par conséquent, le gouvernement simplifiera ses politiques de gestion pour remplacer les contrôles et règles superflus qui entravent l’efficacité de la fonction publique et cherchera, en consultation avec les intervenants, à réduire les obstacles à l’accès au gouvernement.



Date de modification :