Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Contract Management

Introduction

The Procurement and Project Management Policy Directorate (PPMPD) is part of the Government Operations Sector within the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat. Its role is to provide strategic project and procurement management policy leadership to government departments, other central agencies, and other parts of the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat.

PPMPD is guided in its activities by the government's Management Accountability Framework, a foundation for modernizing management practices across government. Specifically, the Directorate is responsible for management excellence within project and procurement policies, practices, and key tools.

Key efforts centre on advancing Treasury Board's Policy suite renewal to promote a much stronger management foundation for major investments supported by projects and procurement. A key to this will be ensuring government has a comprehensive integrated approach to the management of assets and services supported by an effective performance management regime.

Policy Responsibilities

Contracting Policy

The Treasury Board is responsible for the government's Contracting Policy. The Contracting Policy is a major part of the procurement framework. This framework guides on average 500,000 transactions related to goods, services, and construction each year. Collectively, these contracts are valued between $10 and $13 billion each year.

PPMPD works with departments, agencies, and other stakeholders to improve the policy and its implementation.

Project Management Policies

The government has established project management policies to support the significant investments it makes through the design, development, and acquisition of various types of assets. An example that illustrates these significant investments is Major Crown Projects (MCP), which are high-risk projects, generally valued at over $100 million. Projects in the Government of Canada can often be expected to involve technical, business, and significant public policy risks and are critical to transforming service delivery to Canada.

Good project management contains costs and mitigates risks contributing to the successful delivery of program objectives.

Other policies:

  • Policy on Title to Intellectual Property Arising under Crown Procurement Contracts
  • Policy on Decision Making in Limiting Contractor Liability in Crown Procurement Contracts

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gestion des marchés

Introduction

La Direction de la politique sur les acquisitions et la gestion des projets (DPAGP) relève du Secteur des opérations gouvernementales du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada. Elle est chargée d'exercer un leadership stratégique concernant les politiques sur la gestion des projets et les acquisitions auprès des ministères et organismes fédéraux, des organismes centraux et des autres secteurs du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada.

Au cours de ses activités, la DPAGP s'inspire des principes du Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion, lequel vise à moderniser les pratiques de gestion à l'échelle du gouvernement fédéral. La Direction est plus précisément responsable de promouvoir l'excellence de la gestion à même les politiques, les pratiques et les principaux outils de gestion relatifs aux projets et aux acquisitions.

Ses efforts principaux se portent sur l'avancement du renouveau des politiques du Conseil du Trésor afin de promouvoir un fondement de gestion solide pour les principaux investissements qui impliquent des projets et des acquisitions. Il faudra avant tout s'assurer que le gouvernement est doté d'une approche intégrée globale pour la gestion des biens et des services qui est appuyée par un régime de gestion du rendement efficace.

Responsabilités en matière de politiques

Politique sur les marchés

Le Conseil du Trésor est responsable de la Politique sur les marchés. Celle-ci représente un élément important du cadre des acquisitions, lequel régit en moyenne par année 500 000 transactions rattachées aux biens, aux services et à la construction. On estime que la valeur globale annuelle de ces marchés varie de 10 à 13 milliards de dollars.

La DPAGP, de concert avec les ministères, les organismes et d'autres intervenants, travaille à l'amélioration de cette politique et de sa mise en oeuvre.

Politiques sur la gestion des projets

Le gouvernement s'est doté de politiques sur la gestion des projets pour appuyer les importants investissements faits dans la conception, le développement et l'acquisition de divers types d'actifs. À titre d'exemple, mentionnons les grands projets de l'état qui constituent des projets à risque élevé dont la valeur atteint généralement plus de 100 millions de dollars. Les projets du gouvernement canadien supposent bien souvent des risques techniques, opérationnels et d'intérêt public de grande envergure et sont essentiels pour transformer la prestation des services au Canada.

La gestion judicieuse des projets a pour effet de contenir les coûts et de limiter les risques, et contribue à l'atteinte des objectifs des programmes.

Autres politiques :

  • Politique sur le Titre de propriété intellectuelle découlant des marchés d'acquisition de l'État
  • Politique sur la prise de décisions concernant la limitation de la responsabilité des entrepreneurs dans les marchés d'acquisition de l'État