We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Diversity and employment equity

The Public Service ensures inclusive and representative hiring practices to respond to the constantly changing fabric of Canadian society. Employment equity in the Public Service means eliminating barriers to employment for four designated groups: women, Aboriginal peoples, persons with disabilities and members of visible minorities.

At the Office of the Chief Human Resources Officer we:

  • act as an advocate for diversity and employment equity
  • develop, implement and evaluate the policies and programs intended to ensure that the Public Service is being inclusive and representative of the diversity of Canada
  • operate an interdepartmental forum that helps departments and agencies achieve employment equity objectives
International Women's Day - Transcript

With piano background music

Text on white background appears: They have overcome obstacles.

Newspaper clipping showing a photo of Mrs. Anna Minerva Henderson. Superimposed text over the image says that Mrs. Henderson was the first Black woman to obtain a permanent position in the public service, in 1912.

Video excerpt of Mrs. Helen Small and the Treasury Board Secretary, Mrs. Yaprak Baltacioğlu sitting in armchairs, having a discussion. Mrs. Small explains that the main obstacle in the pursuit of her career in the public service was marriage.

Fixed black and white image of Mrs. Small appears on the screen with superimposed text. The text says that thanks to Mrs. Small, the Public Service Commission regulations that required women to quit their jobs once married were abolished in 1955.

Floating text on white background saying: They paved the way for others.

Photo of Mrs. Jean Edmonds. To the left of the photo, superimposed text appears: In 1966, Jean Edmonds became the first woman executive in the federal government. She was a member of the Task Force on Barriers to Women in the Public Service.

Video excerpt of Mrs. Sylvia Ostry, Ph.D. introducing herself. Superimposed text describing her as the first woman to occupy the position of Deputy Minister in the Government of Canada, as Chief Statistician in 1972.

Photo of the Honorable Jocelyne Bourgon, P.C., O.C. To the left of the photo, superimposed text describes her as the first woman appointed to the position of Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet in 1994.

Floating text on white background saying: They were pioneers.

Video excerpt of Major Deanna Brasseur introducing herself. Superimposed text appears on the screen describing her as the first woman fighter pilot in Canada in 1989.

Floating text on white background saying: They conquered new territories.

Video excerpt of Dr. Roberta Bondar in an astronaut suit with arms lifted in a victory sign preparing to enter the space shuttle. Superimposed text appears on screen introducing her as the first Canadian woman astronaut and first neurologist to go into space, 1992.

Video excerpt of Mrs. Donna Kirkwood, Ph.D. naming herself, with superimposed text to the right explaining that in 2010, she became the first director general of the Geological Survey of Canada since the creation of the organization in 1842.

Video excerpt of Colonel M.H.L. Bourgon, 12 Wing Shearwater Commander in a pilot suit standing in front of a SeaKing helicopter. She introduces herself. Superimposed text appears indicating that in 2011 she was the first woman pilot promoted to the rank of colonel.

Sitting in an armchair, Mrs. Yaprak Baltacioğlu, the Secretary of the Treasury Board, and the first woman Deputy Minister at Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, thanks all the women mentioned in this video and stresses how they continue to inspire us.

Floating text on white background: Thank you

Rolling credits on screen.

Special thanks to:

  • Mrs. Helen Small
  • Dr. Sylvia Ostry
  • Major Deanna Brasseur
  • Dr. Roberta Bondar
  • Dr. Donna Kirkwood
  • Colonel Lise Bourgon

For their gracious collaboration in the production of this video, thank you to the following:

  • Museum of Nature
  • Aviation Museum
  • Royal Canadian Air Force
  • LCol George Taylor Denison III Armoury
  • 12 Wing Imagerie
  • Department of National Defence
  • Natural Resources Canada
  • Statistics Canada

Photo credits

  • Library and Archives Canada
  • Privy Council Office
  • Fade to black
  • Canada Wordmark
  • End of music

Activities and partners

Employment Equity Champions and Chairs Committees

Recently a change has been made to the governance around employment equity obligations in the public service. This is subsequent to a Public Service Management Advisory Committee (PSMAC) decision to create a Champions and Chairs Committee for each of the following employment equity groups.

  • Aboriginal persons
  • Persons with disabilities
  • Members of a visible minority

In the former model, these groups were represented by the three National Employment Equity Councils (the National Council for Visible Minorities, the National Council for Federal Employees with Disabilities and the National Council for Aboriginal Federal Employees).

The Committees – each chaired by a Deputy Minister Champion— will identify issues, develop strategies and report on results through the Treasury Board Secretariat's Annual Report on Employment Equity.

This new governance model presents many advantages in support of meeting public service employment equity objectives. It will:

  • allow for better networking and sharing of best practices among departments;
  • offer a common approach for all three groups; and
  • allow better and more direct access for employees to employment equity Deputy Minister Champions and departmental management, who are in a position to act on recommendations.

If you have any questions about the new governance model or on our departmental strategy for employment equity, please contact your employment equity representative.

Related Documents

Other resources

Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Diversité et équité en matière d'emploi

Des pratiques d’embauche inclusives et représentatives sont instituées en fonction de la structure changeante de la société canadienne. L’équité en matière d’emploi à la fonction publique permet de supprimer les obstacles à l’obtention d’un poste pour les quatre groupes désignés suivants : femmes, peuples autochtones, personnes ayant un handicap et membres de minorités visibles.

Au Bureau du dirigeant principal des ressources humaines, nous :

  • agissons comme porte-parole pour les questions de diversité et d’équité en matière d’emploi
  • élaborons, évaluons et mettons en œuvre des politiques et programmes qui font en sorte que la fonction publique est inclusive et représentative de la diversité au sein du pays  
  • gérons un forum interministériel qui aide les ministères et organisations à atteindre leurs objectifs liés à l’équité en matière d’emploi
Journée internationale de la femme - Transcription

Sur musique de fond de piano

Texte sur fond blanc apparaît : Elles ont franchi des obstacles.

Coupure de journal montrant la photo de Mme Anna Minerva Henderson. Texte superposé à l’image décrit que Mme Henderson a été la première femme noire à obtenir un poste permanent dans la fonction publique en 1912.

Extrait vidéo montrant Mme Helen Small et la secrétaire du Conseil du Trésor, Mme Yaprak Baltacioğlu discutant assises dans des fauteuils. Mme Small explique que le principal obstacle à sa carrière dans la fonction publique a été le mariage.

Image fixe en noir et blanc de Mme Small apparaît sur l’écran avec texte superposé. Le texte dit que grâce à elle, les règles de la Commission de la fonction publique obligeant les femmes à quitter leur emploi une fois mariées ont été abolies en 1955.

Texte flottant sur fond blanc citant : Elles ont tracé la voie pour d’autres.

Photo de Mme Jean Edmonds. À gauche de la photo apparaît le texte superposé : En 1966, Jean Edmonds est devenue la première femme cadre au gouvernement fédéral. Elle a été membre du Groupe de travail sur les obstacles rencontrés par les femmes dans la fonction publique.

Extrait vidéo de Mme Sylvia Ostry, Ph.D. se présentant. Texte superposé la décrivant comme étant la première femme à occuper le poste de sous-ministre au gouvernement du Canada, en tant que statisticienne en chef en 1972.

Photo de l’honorable Jocelyne Bourgon, C.P., O.C. À gauche de la photo, un texte superposé la décrit comme étant la première femme à être nommée au poste de greffière du Conseil privé de la Reine et Secrétaire du Cabinet en 1994.

Texte flottant sur fond blanc citant : Elles ont été des pionnières.

Extrait vidéo du Major Deanna Brasseur où elle se présente. Un texte superposé apparaît à l’écran la décrivant comme étant la première femme pilote de chasseur à réaction du Canada en 1989.

Texte flottant sur fond blanc citant : Elles ont conquis de nouveaux territoires.

Extrait vidéo de la Dre Roberta Bondar en survêtement d’astronaute, les bras levés en signe de victoire se préparant à monter dans la navette spatiale. Texte superposé apparaît sur l’écran la présentant comme la première femme astronaute canadienne et première neurologue à se rendre dans l’espace en 1992.

Extrait vidéo de Mme Donna Kirkwood. Ph.D. se nommant, accompagné d’un texte superposé à la droite expliquant qu’en 2010, elle est devenue la première directrice générale de la Commission géologique du Canada depuis la création de l’organisation en 1842.

Extrait vidéo du Colonel M.H.L. Bourgon, commandant de la 12e Escadre Shearwater en survêtement de pilote debout devant un hélicoptère SeaKing. Elle se présente. Un texte superposé apparaît indiquant qu’en 2011, elle a été la première femme pilote promue au rang de colonel.

Assise dans un fauteuil, Mme Yaprak Baltacioğlu, secrétaire du Conseil du Trésor et première femme sous-ministre à Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, remercie toutes les femmes mentionnées dans cette vidéo et souligne combien elles continuent à nous inspirer.

Texte flottant sur fond blanc : Merci.

Sur fond noir, remerciements déroulent sur l’écran.

Plus sincères remerciements à :

  • Madame Helen Small
  • Madame Sylvia Ostry
  • Major Deanna Brasseur
  • Dre Roberta Bondar
  • Madame Donna Kirkwood
  • Colonel Lise Bourgon

Et pour leur précieuse collaboration, nous remercions :

  • Musée de la nature
  • Musée de l’aviation
  • Aviation royale canadienne
  • Manège lcol George Taylor Denison III
  • Service d’imagerie de la 12e Escadre
  • Ministère de la Défense nationale
  • Ressources naturelles Canada
  • Statistique Canada

Mention de source :

  • Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
  • Bureau du Conseil privé
  • Écran noir
  • Fin de la musique
  • Mot symbole Canada

Activités et partenaires

Comité des champions et des présidents des réseaux

La gouvernance relative aux obligations touchant l'équité en matière d'emploi dans la fonction publique a été modifiée récemment. Ce changement fait suite à une décision du Comité consultatif sur la gestion de la fonction publique de créer un comité des champions et des présidents pour chacun des groupes suivants visés par l'équité en matière d'emploi.

  • Les autochtones
  • Les gens handicapés
  • Les minorités visibles

Dans l'ancien modèle, ces groupes étaient représentés par les trois conseils nationaux sur l'équité en matière d'emploi, soit le Conseil national des minorités visibles, le Conseil national des employés handicapés fédéraux et le Conseil national des employés fédéraux autochtones.

Ces nouveaux comités— présidés par un sous-ministre champion— décèleront les problèmes, élaboreront des stratégies et rendront compte des résultats dans le rapport annuel sur l'équité en emploi du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

Ce nouveau modèle de gouvernance présente de nombreux avantages, car les nouveaux comités appuieront les objectifs de la fonction publique en matière d'équité en emploi :

  • Les ministères pourront plus facilement faire du réseautage et partager les pratiques prometteuses.
  • Les membres de la collectivité de l'équité en emploi pourront faire valoir leur point de vue par l'entremise des présidents de réseaux ministériels.
  • Les employés auront un accès amélioré et plus direct aux sous-ministres champions de l'équité en emploi ainsi qu'aux cadres ministériels, qui sont en mesure de donner suite à des recommandations.

Si vous avez des questions sur le nouveau modèle de gouvernance ou sur la stratégie ministérielle relative à l'équité en emploi, veuillez communiquer avec votre représentant en matière d'équité d'emploi.


Documents connexes


Autres ressources

Date de modification :